Meat

I love a bit of raw meat. However winning 3 huge meat trays at The Local’s raffle on Friday night has produced somewhat of a meat glut in the house.

On Sunday I roasted the world’s largest roast beef. I’m great at roast lamb and roast pork but had only ever tried roast beef once before. That time? I threw it in the bin and got a pizza. This time I harnessed the power of the interweb, and googled “how to cook roast beef” before commencing. Apparently you cook it in a slow oven, not medium like a leg of lamb or pork. Actually, not even just apparently – it is true, I sealed it on high for 20 minutes then reduced it to a low oven temperature and slow roasted it for 4 hours. It was so delicious and tender. Roast beef sandwiches this week for leftovers have been an added benefit. Although only on day 2 of roast beef sandwiches and with about 6 bajillion slices of roast beef yet to get through I am concerned I’m over it already.

What on earth am I going to do with the rest of the meat? The freezer is so full of meat I ended up writing a list of what was in the freezer. It’s something like this:

  • 1 pack of 8 sausages
  • 1 pack of 4 sausages
  • 1 pack of 4 huge pork chops
  • 2 packs of 4 big lamb forequarter chops (which I don’t like much – might have to casserole these)
  • 1 pack of 3 T Bone steaks
  • 4 rashers of bacon
  • 2 packs of 5 lamb stewing chops
  • steak and mushroom pie filling (home made and frozen ready to pop in a big pie crust)
  • chicken and leek pie filling (also home made but only enough for a snack size not a huge pie)
  • 1 packet of mystery meat. No idea what it is. Looks like it might be steak. After finding this, I labelled the rest as I froze it.

That’s just the bits I remember. Shame I really feel like chicken tonight.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Meat”

  1. WT Says:

    That’s about what I usually get for a home IT support visit up here, although it’s generally all beef.

    I’ve turned roast beef into leather by cooking it like pork too!

  2. bermudabluez Says:

    Thank you for your words of wisdom! At this point, I’ve pretty much resigned myself to the fact that I will be going on the trip…just not real happy about it. I was told…I COULD stay home. Which would be worse.

  3. Frank Says:

    I’ll need a grill, about 12 bags of charcoal, and I’ll take care of the excess meat in that fridge…*drools*

  4. sashimi Says:

    Do send some over, if you don’t need the lot. I’ll love the packet of mystery meat..thanks 🙂

  5. Pamela Says:

    well freeze it in individual packets with gravy and pull one out for a quick microwaved lunch — open faced on toast.

  6. Aubrey Says:

    WoW!!! That’s a lot of meat. Time for a b-b-Q

  7. 12ontheinside Says:

    WT: I do spare IT work on the side for beer.
    burmudabluez: good luck! take plenty of booze to numb the pain.
    Frank: You only love me for my bacon.
    sashimi: HA! You could have it, I still have no idea what it is!
    Pamela: the boyfriend ate it all while I was at work. Hmph, I was planning on roast and gravy sangers for weeks (yes, from the freezer)
    Aubrey: It’s Friday today. Meat raffle day at The Local. The Boyfriend asked me today “So… you’re not going to buy any tickets tonight, are you?” I still haven’t decided. I like to win. Hey, I can always give it away.

    Crap, perhaps last week when the dude wanted to buy a meat tray off me I should have agreed.

Leave a comment