Got to Get Away

I couldn’t wait another second – I headed out of town on Thursday night for a spur of the moment spell at the holiday house. It was chilly, but sunny. We just spent the last 3 days lolling about reading books, playing board games, watching DVDs and eating.Mmm, even a fantastic baked dinner on Saturday night.

This place heals me – it is one of the very few places that just makes me instantly relax.

When we returned I even realised we’d brought home most of the junky snack food I’d thrown into a bag in a hurry on Thursday night and we’d eaten for the most part reasonably healthily. If you don’t count cheese as unhealthy. Dairy is good for you. It is too.

Today my muscles are telling me that rowing miles up the lake might not have been the smartest move. My bruises are telling me that falling in the lake after a few lemonades on Friday night serve me right and that water and alcohol do not mix. My mind is telling me that things just might be ok.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Got to Get Away”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    So happy for you. Everyone should have a place that heals them. Too bad we can’t all live in a place that heals us.

  2. Secret Squirrel Says:

    Nice.

    It is because of your stories of this place that I am, and have for a while, been dreaming and planning to have a holiday at the lake. It was the story of the cork filled bag/floatation device that started me off.

    I’m so glad you had a nice time.

    xox eve xox

Leave a Reply

