Things that go Poke in the Night

The other night as we lay in bed, I said to The Boyfriend “You know, sometimes I’m not sure if you’re still breathing at night. It’s normally reasonably easy to tell if you’re alive – the snorty noises give it away. Sometimes though, I wake up and you’re all quiet. So I poke you to see if you’ll make a noise, just to check if you’re still alive.”

The Boyfriend looked at me with absolute shock on his face. I thought he was horrified that I would be poking him in the ribs every other night. Gee, and I didn’t even tell him how HARD I do it sometimes, especially if he’s annoyed me that day! Nope, that was not the case. He replied with “That’s so weird, I do that to you too!”

I didn’t really believe him. Until last night, when I was sleeping lighter than usual all night as The Boyfriend had  very selfishly been coughing all night. Hey, I’d offered cough mixture, he wouldn’t take it because it was 9 years out of date. Bah. I was lying in a half sleep state, when I felt a very sharp finger in the rib cage. I leapt up, thinking he was sicker than I’d thought, and somewhat regretting my growl of an hour or two earlier that if he didn’t shut up I’d poison him. He said “Don’t worry honey, I was just checking you were still breathing”.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Things that go Poke in the Night”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Your soul mates!
    By the way, I was a little afraid of where this post might go…

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Yes, for all my usual snarky humour on matters serious, I agree with you on that one, we are.

      I also knew well in advance where you were expecting the topic to slide – tsk tsk. 😉

  2. Pamela Says:

    I’m way past the poking. I just grab my pillow and smack him. ha ha.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Oh, so do I, honey. I’m just saying it was a gentle poke so the Internet doesn’t think I’m a bully.

  3. spleeness Says:

    haha, I used to do this too. Laughing about the 9 yr old cough medicine!

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      hmm. It really must just be me that thinks “how bad can cough medicine go”. There’s surely nothing in it that could go off, it’s not like food or anything. But then I follow the 5 second rule with a rather filthy floor too, so it very well could be just me…

Leave a Reply

