Bits and Pieces

Ah yes, ye olde blog, I have neglected you. I blame the fact that it’s been a busy couple of weeks that have really kicked my ass.

A funeral – for a friend who decided to take their own life. Such a sad event – and saddest of all for his young son, barely 1 year old.

A birth – a girlfriend’s first baby. I was relieved when visiting her to see she had a good looking baby. Sometimes they seem to come out looking like little old men, or monkeys. Fortunately I was able to honestly say her son was a gorgeous little thing.

In hot water – or not, as my hot water heater is on the verge of exploding, if the the hot water leaking from underneath the tank is any clue. I really must get a plumber out to have a look. I suspect a new one is in the near future.

Railing at the cost – of new balustrades for the balcony project. I’m horrified to find the iron lace panels etc look like they are going to set me back around $15,000. Yikes. That’s JUST for the lacework ballustrade, corners and frieze.

Soccer World Cup is over – and so it means the end for my latest favourite joke. Where you mention casually in conversation that someone told you how annoying you were. When asked why, you say “I dunno, but I nearly choked on my vuvuzela!”

Tags: ,

10 Responses to “Bits and Pieces”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    My son looked like an old man, to where people laughed so hard they cried. I laughed too.
    I’m sorry about your friend. That’s so very sad.

  2. Cake Says:

    I’m really sorry about your friend…that’s terribly sad.

    p.s.
    But your joke cracked me up badly. Awesome!

    p.p.s.
    I’m over here via Ege…I’ve been meaning to say hi. Hi! *waves*

  3. Kelley @ Magnetoboldtoo Says:

    it took me ages to actually be able to SAY vuvuzela let alone spell it!

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      I still can’t say it. I’m stuck this week on the rather belated joke about my dyslexic friend, who got arrested at the World Cup for trying to blow a Zulu’s Vulva. heh.

  4. ~sWaMpY~ Says:

    I moseyed on over here from PamelaJamela’s place. Just looking for some new blog buds. Seems as though my circle of friends that I started out with in 2006, have slowly dwindled away. Will you be my new friend ?
    I am so going to miss the vuvuzelas. I feel the need to have a bee hive attached to the side of my head just to deal with the withdrawal symptoms.
    Have you considered doing away with your balcony ? Seems as though it would be cheaper. As for your hot water heater, do you know how many gallons of water will end up on your floor if it explodes ? Not to mention, how cold your next shower will be? My sister’s-in-law (or is it sister-in-law’s) new baby looked like a cone-head…cute kid, but could have starred on SNL.

    On a serious note, suicide is such a tragedy and I’m very sorry that you have experienced losing your friend in this way.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Ah swampy I have had you in my reader for years and years. I used to be a regular around Pamela and the gang from aeons back – like the first Fun Mondays. Since then I’ve had a a few blog name changes. The balcony WILL be finished. But not till a new hot water heater goes in. Thank goodness my other half’s parents live only a few blocks away!

  5. spleeness Says:

    Ah, now I understand — life is swamping us both. sigh. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. Congrats on your friend’s cute kid (an accomplishment, even if one that can’t be helped, lol).

    Why is it so much damned money to do anything nice around the house??

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Thanks, appreciate that.

      I don’t know. Why is it? Why did I buy the really funky old house built in the 1890’s (majorly old for Australia) instead of a nice new one that didn’t need repairs?

      Well, probably because it used to be an old pub, and being an old boozer I was just captivated by the silly idea. Big sigh to that!

Leave a Reply

