Not Too Crummy

I don’t like stale bread. Toast? Fine. But really, you can’t beat a nice sanger for lunch, can you. I don’t think bread tastes the same after it’s been frozen. Given that I tend to do the grocery shopping once a week, that doesn’t leave much time for fresh bread to make sandwiches from.

Tidying the kitchen recently, I rediscovered my bread maker, which had been used all of about 6 times before being shoved to the back of the cupboard. I was pretty excited to buy some good quality bread flour and give it a go. I was less than pleased that the darn thing would knead the bread for a while, then stop. Oh, not in a quiet, fizz out of a way. No, more in a way that all the house plunged into darkness, all power lost, and trips out to the fuse box type of stop. I guess the silly thing is broken.

I haven’t let it beat me – how’s this for a first attempt – real bread, kneaded by hand, baked in a real oven rather than a fake bread maker! I’m pretty proud. Of course, I also have a funny feeling the ease of a bread making machine might make me buy another one soon, but in the meantime? I’ll be baking it.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Not Too Crummy”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    It looks delicious! I go back and forth between the two. There are times when a bread maker really comes in handy ’round here.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      You surprise me by using a breadmaker sometimes – I’d expected you baked yours fresh and by hand every time!

  2. You're Lucky I Don't Have a Gun... Says:

    we received a breadmaker for our wedding and it only took us 2 years to test it out. turns out, it makes great bread!

    so great, the damn dogs snuck it off the counter and devoured it when we were in the other room.

  3. Pamela Says:

    I’ve never done it (except in a bread machine)

Leave a Reply

