Trivial Pursuits

On Wednesday, The Boyfriend, my brother and I are going to a trivia night at a nearby pub. I actually met The Boyfriend at a trivia night at The Local, so happen to know that he is a fantastic team mate for these types of functions. I, however, also have a special secret weapon! A few months ago, in a mood of something related to extremely poor decorating skills, I replaced my shower curtain with this little beauty:

It’s already come in handy – a group of us were recently sitting around at The Local, waiting for the footy game to start, when someone read out some trivia questions from the newspaper. The Boyfriend and I were the only ones who happened to know what country was bordered by Algeria and Libya. I am contemplating only one change to the routine – I might have to turn the shower curtain inside out. Sure, it’ll look a bit funny for visitors using the bathroom to see a back to front world map, but think of how much time it’ll save me in the morning, no longer straining my head around to read backwards what that country is.

Tags:

16 Responses to “Trivial Pursuits”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    The homeschooler in me loves your shower curtain. I think it makes good sense to turn it inside out unless you can read it on the toilet, but I’m not going to think too much about that.

  2. louisianefille Says:

    I like your shower curtain. It’s not too often that you have an opportunity to educate yourself while in the bathroom!

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Hmm. Really? I am sure I could think of ways to educate oneself in the bathroom. But.. I guess I won’t go there. You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

  3. Paula Says:

    Oh wow! I would LOVE this. I find showering really boring and this would make it so much more interesting for me. (I’m a total geek about these things – when I was about nine I memorised a lot of capital cities. Unfortunately, a lot of the countries no longer exist but I always like to say my knowledge of capital cities circa 1988 is astounding…)

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Paula, you’d be a hit at Trivia nights! I mean really, they can’t have ALL changed, eh!

  4. Frank Says:

    Hmm, the curtain doesn’t look like it blocks much…if you’re looking for privacy you might have to hide behind Africa.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Frank that totally cracked me up.
      Although I’d be worried about more than my crack if there were strangers in the bathroom when I was in the shower.

  5. Swampy Says:

    Great teaching tool…and possibly a motivation to get kids to shower.

  6. Kelley @ Magnetoboldtoo Says:

    I have just one word for you…

    HUZZAH!

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Kelly, I have no idea why but your comment just made me think “I see London, I see France, but I don’t see any Underpants”. Well it would be just weird to have undies on in the shower so I guess it makes perfect sense.

  7. black and white curtains Says:

    Great!! I will buy one for my kid

  8. Pamela Says:

    I don’t think any of those continents are big enough to give me privacy. hee hee

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      That completely cracked me up. Although I actually do not tend to shower with too many friends around so haven’t had a problem with that πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

