Crackers!

An extra long weekend is just over (I had Friday off work and Monday was a public holiday for ANZAC Day here), and it’s one that has taught me some valuable lessons.

I went to a 40th birthday party on Saturday evening. The hosts of the party had a bit of a problem – their fridge stopped working the morning of the party. As the venue was only 3 blocks from my house, I offered to stash the leftovers after dinner at my house, and bring them back the next day for any stragglers to have for lunch. An excellent idea, no?

The not so excellent idea, was to give the girlfriend who’d brought the food over a quick tour of the renovations I’ve been suffering through for the last few weeks. Clearly a few sheets under the wind, I opened up the door to the upstairs room, totally forgot there was no floorboards down, and stepped right out onto the ceiling of the room below. Whoops, add one more job to the growing list – repair the ceiling.

Don’t try this one at home, kids – I was VERY lucky I wasn’t hurt – if I’d fallen right through I definitely would have been. As it is, I just made a bit of a crack, about the size of my foot, which I am hoping can be patched without replacing any of the ceiling.  It could so easily have gone the other way.

You heard it here first – don’t drink and give house tours.

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Crackers!”

  1. Kelley @ Magnetoboldtoo Says:

    is it wrong that I laughed at the visual?

    After I knew you were OK. Clearly.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Nope – I laughed too. Very hard. I had possibly overdone the lemonades. Also if I had described what it looked like in detail – me flailing about trying to get my uncoordinated limbs onto support beams instead of ceiling – you would have laughed harder. My girlfriend pulled me up by the loops in my jeans then we both fell on each other. Sigh.

  2. EGE Says:

    Oh, man! That is so totally something I would do! I really am starting to think the two of us must have been separated at birth. Except, you know, about the locking-doors thing…

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Don’t worry – twice I’ve lost my keys, only to find them in the keyhole of the front door, where I’d obviously used them to open the door, and the sailed right in and locked the door behind me, keys swinging in the breeze and waiting for anyone who wanted to step right on in. Not so superior now, eh.

  3. Pamela Says:

    well.. that would have sobered me quickly!

  4. WT Says:

    As an electrician, trust me when I say I know how you felt!

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      I bet you can imagine how cross I felt when I discovered today all blogs are blocked from work. Argh!

Leave a Reply

