Add New Post

As I clicked on “Add New Post” it seemed very appropriate, given that the weekend has been full of adding new posts. New balcony posts, that is.

This is what the room that the balcony wraps around used to look like. Yes, I had almost finished renovating it – most of the painting was done, new fireplace, hearth tiles, skirting boards, windows all stripped back and repaired.

That orb in the photo? It might be a ghost. Or dust. You pick.

This is what it is looking like now. Oh, bugger.

All of the rotted joists were cut off at the house. They were still fine underneath the floorboards inside, so it’s only the actual outside parts that had rotted. Gee, from that beam in the far left on the corner of the house I just can’t imagine why this was apparently just a tad unsafe.

About 12 of the new beams are in, though not fastened yet inside, under the floor. Here’s some on one side of the house. Pretty, pretty beams. Also? I’m so please to see some progress finally, after weeks of destruction!

I’ll be beaming when this is all over!

Tags:

6 Responses to “Add New Post”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I’m so sorry about your forced renovation. At least you are handling it gracefully and with humor. There’s really very little I like more than a good pun. 😉

  2. Kelley Says:

    I am choosing to see this as very very exciting.

    I miss renovating.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      True, I have no idea what I’ll do with my days when it’s done. I’m not too worried though. The end’s a long way off yet! 🙂

  3. mark Says:

    Those are some fine looking new beams. Shame about having to re-reno the room.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Oh the funniest bit about that room was when I got a raft of tradie mates around to help get that floor up, then one of them looked at that green wall and said “Yuk, what a gross colour, bet you can’t wait to paint over THAT!”. Ummm. That’s the colour I just painted it.

Leave a Reply

