Location, Location, Location

Today I am working at a different office than usual, because it’s not enough that I have an office at one location and a desk at Head Office – I need to have a third place to be as well. All 3 locations really could use someone there full time, so I am contemplating some cloning activity in the future, however for the moment will have to be satisfied with never knowing quite where I have to be the next day. A 3rd location is not such a bad thing, before you frown at yet another woe-is-me episode. This office is a 10 minute drive from home. In heavy traffic. Only 5 on a good day. You have to be happy with that!

This morning was an exercise in futility trying to find my way in – forgetting that I like to get to work early (because I also like to slip away early, not because I love mornings or anything – don’t come near me before 11 if you don’t want your head snapped off), my boss had not explained just how to get into the building before business hours. I spent some time wandering around the site just after 7am this morning wondering why I was not still in bed and how to get in the damn door. I’ve worked it out now. All I need to do next is remember the location on this office – I got lost in the building earlier this morning and had to get help from a passing stranger. I bet it made their day.

Today I am residing in my boss’s office. The boss with the good sense of humour. Hope the boss enjoys the little notes I left him, commenting on his desk.

(if you can’t read this it says “Germaphobe? You? Nah!!!”

I’m pretty sure he’s not a germaphobe actually, for although he does have isowipes and hand sanitiser, he also has 2 inch thick dust on his desk. Well, he used to – I wasn’t about to sit in that all day so the isowipes came in rather handy!

I am worried about what else he’s been up to though.

(If you can’t read these the left says “What The? You been picking locks or something?” and the right says “P.S. I broke my laptop putting this into my disk drive. Kidding – I would have, but I don’t have a disk drive…)

That ex-paperclip sure looks like it’s been used for something nefarious. The calculator is too cool though – see that thing in the shape of a 3.5″ disk? The metal clip part slides down to turn it on and reveal the screeny bit of the calculator. I can’t imagine how many people screwed up their computers when these were given out, which would have been some time ago I’d imagine. Possibly around the same era that folks everywhere were breaking CD Rom drives and calling their help desks to report the cup holder being broken.

The view out of his office windows is gorgeous. Shortly after snapping this, I went for a walk around the block just to enjoy the sunshine. After a few dreary days of rain this week the blue sky is most welcome!

Look! Greenery even! I await how excellent I believe the view to be in a week, when school goes back after the Easter break – over the street there is a school. Must go now – I have some googling to do on how to soundproof windows.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

