Swinging from the Rafters

Of course I didn’t take a “Before” photo. I’d have one, somewhere, showing what the house looked like with a balcony. (Ah, those were the days!) If I’d known that while I was out shopping my tradie mates and The Boyfriend were going to set the house on fire well I definitely would have taken another one, just to be sure.

Anyway, use your imagination – it used to have a big balcony overhanging the footpath. Here’s what The Money Pit is looking like today. All those support beams, the ones that used to have a balcony on them? Yeah, they all have to go. The whole front of the house upstairs needs the floor lifted up in order to do this. (Bye bye, original gorgeous wide floorboards, hello crap covered with carpet!)

I’ve been focussed on the inside of the house up until this point, when  my very sporadic renovation bug kicked in that is. I guess this is the universe’s way of telling me to get my butt in gear and get some of the outside done!

I’m listening, universe! No more! In fact, I think I might get a brick cleaner in to strip off any flaking paint so I can get the place painted as well. I don’t want to go overboard, but some new door frames and doors wouldn’t go astray either. Then… hang on, I’ll get my list. (List is LONG!)

Tags:

4 Responses to “Swinging from the Rafters”

  1. Pamela Says:

    can I say {that sucks} !!

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      It does, it does. However, the beams we have been oiling up are looking fantastic – it’s going to be beautiful when it’s finished!!

  2. Lisa Says:

    What a cool place! I’m loving your renovation pix! I’m a renovation voyeur. I don’t think I could live with it, but I love to see what other people make of their surroundings.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Thanks Lisa 🙂 I must admit some days I want to move to a brand new house – but mostly I love my old money pit.

Leave a Reply

