Cruisin’ – Days 2 to 4

Today’s post is a copy/paste from my holiday emails during the last week’s holidays. After all, you surely do not want to hear about the mounds of washing I am doing post holidays.

Days 2 & 3 – At Sea (3-4 Dec)

Days at sea? I think I like them better than the port days. I have no idea where the time gets to but it’s a whirl of activity. I have played shuffleboard, gone in bellyflop contests, swam and sat in the spa for hours. The cruise director is called Julie, and is the captain’s daughter. Ok, she is not really but it’s been fun pretending she is. (Anyone who does not get that reference go watch some bad old tv right now.) I have eaten, drunk and been merry. Very merry indeed. I have also met some fantastic people, some of whom I had apparently already met (see day 1!).

Day 4 – Airlie Beach (5 Dec)

We were at Airlie not so long ago for a week, so we took a day trip to Daydream Island which is gorgeous. A banana boat ride and a swim up bar along with a few nice bushwalking trails – the best of all worlds!

Tonight I declared if I have to eat dinner with an absolute tosser called Charles that is assigned to my dinner table I will top myself. I suspect we will be dining in the alternative restaurant after today’s 2 hour lecture about just how I should change my life, what my passion is, and why I am wrong about everything in the world. Upon running into several others later in the evening who had been at my table earlier in the week, I have discovered their tolerance ran out a night or two ago, which explains the empty rest of the table. I was surprisingly well behaved and mostly smiled and nodded while desperately hoping he choked on his forkful.

An early night has been a waste of time as the party by the pool is going on just above my cabin. There seems to be a conga line going past as I type and I am searching the cabin for weapons to use to shut the people up who clearly have more stamina than I. Note to self: do not get a cabin directly under the pool again.

Tomorrow we hit Cairns and the half way point. Looking forward to it, never having been there before. Well good news, the party seems to have stopped so I need to catch up on my zzzzz’s!

Tags:

2 Responses to “Cruisin’ – Days 2 to 4”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Oooh, sorry you got stuck with a bad dinner companion.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      It was ok really – it turned out to be quite amusing, and you should always expect that I tend to over dramatise things anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

