Let Them Eat Cake

Yesterday The Boyfriend’s mum gave us a chocolate cake. I shit you not, the thing is the flattest cake I have ever seen. I am not sure how I managed to thank her and then wait to laugh until I was safely home. The funnier still part is that her next door neighbour cooked it and gave it to her.

I’m wondering if The Boyfriend’s mum’s neighbour was trying to say something by giving a complete fail-cake to her. I’m wondering why The Boyfriend’s mum would say in actions, if not words, “Thanks for taking our son off our hands, here, have a shit fail-cake because we don’t want it”. She gave me half a banana cake too, and then said in response to my thanks, “No worries, it’s dry and burnt on the bottom, by the way”. heh.

Check out the chocolate cake – it barely reaches the first joint on my index finger – and I have short stubby little fat sausage fingers. I’m thinking I might whip up a heap of cream and make it into some kind of swiss roll.

failcake

Almost the end of the week, which can come around any time now, and hurry. The end of the week means meat. We need to get through some more meat at our place. This was our haul from last Friday’s meat raffle at The Local – 4 meat trays full.

meaty

Roll on, weekend, I need you!

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “Let Them Eat Cake”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    The cakes made me laugh, particularly your use of the word “sh*t” throughout this post. The meat is just gross and you can’t convince me otherwise. 😉

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      I expected you to comment on the meat – I just cannot help being a meatetarian.

      The cakes made me laugh too. The Boyfriend packed my lunch this morning and I just found a slice of banana cake in there. Clearly he agrees the cakes need to be eaten – either that, or he thinks I am a big fat pig. The piece of cake is the size of a house brick. I would feed my whole office with it, but I don’t want them to think I cook burnt dry cake.

  2. sashimi Says:

    o wow! me drooling…all over that meat.

  3. Frank Says:

    Looks like a giant brownie…mmmm…brownie…

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Frank, it did look like a brownie, only with a dry crumby texture. Mmmm, delicious! I’m going to request a dozen or two more and tile my bathroom walls with them.

  4. travelling, but not in love Says:

    I worry about the slabs of meat….did you win them?

  5. nikki Says:

    I love meat. I always say, never trust someone who doesn’t like bacon.

  6. Pamela Says:

    It’s a dump cake. That’s a verb, not at adjective.

Leave a Reply

