My New Boss is Kind of Cool

With the restructure at work I think I might have landed a boss who gets me. Or at least, one who doesn’t report me for my dreadful behaviour.

The scene: My desk. Earlier today an email went out company wide announcing my new boss’ job, except they spelled the Manager at the end of his job title as Manger.

12 to New Boss:

Very much looking forward to having you as my Manger. I have purchased a nativity scene for you to display at your desk to remind you of the importance of your new role.

New Boss to 12:

If they can go from Manager to Manger, imagine what you get from Analyst…

12 to New Boss:

Um. Like I told my other half. I don’t do that. Or swallow. So you can just rethink that one.

New Boss to 12:

I hadn’t actually thought that far through and might not have ended up in the same place. But I am now. Brrrrr!

Tags:

14 Responses to “My New Boss is Kind of Cool”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    How naive am I that I’m totally lost in this post. I’m not 100% sure I want you to explain it to me either. But the manger thing is funny.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Hmm, not sure I want to explain it to you either, Jenn!

      The first 4 letters of Analyst are probably the important ones in order to understand my sick humour.

      I hope I do not have to explain not swallowing to you. It would be too much like the time my Grandma asked me what a 69 was. I went bright red and told her to ask my mum. She said she had, and mum wouldn’t tell her. So then I had to. And she said – no word of a lie – “Oh, is that what they’re calling it these days.” *shudder*

  2. willowtree Says:

    Could be either fantastic, or it could end in tears. I’m not talking about the saline solution emanating from the eyes, I’m talking about the possible rectal damage.

  3. willowtree Says:

    I recently found a more polite way of saying 69er, besides the snooty French way of soixante neuf, I thought ‘dinner for two’ had a nice ring to it, specially if there’s a tossed salad involved.

  4. sashimi Says:

    Noooooooooooooooo u didn’t! My boss would probably fire me on charges of harassment!

  5. Little Miss Moi Says:

    I think WT’s comments are funnier than his blog posts. So one has to stalk him around the cyber-verse.

    I am working for the first time with a male boss (unusual in the world of media and corporate communications). I love it. He’s funny. Some of our team are funny. We all have little giggle sessions and it makes work a wonderful place to work. and I never thought I’d say that.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      I wouldn’t go so far as to say it makes work good! However I did catch myself saying the other day in reaction to hearing something dreadful another person had said “Oh, I would never do that! I’d never treat our customers with the same disrespect I give management!”.

  6. Pamela Says:

    the only thing I don’t understand is the BRRRR.
    But I just put my sweatshirt on.

  7. Frank Says:

    Pfft, that’s what YOU think. He’s probably emailing that conversation to HR in order to get you fired 😛

  8. Location, Location, Location « 12 On The Inside Says:

    […] I am residing in my boss’s office. The boss with the good sense of humour. Hope the boss enjoys the little notes I left him, commenting on his […]

Leave a Reply

