I Never Said I Was a Morning Person!

I’m not good in the mornings. I never have been. I’ve always loved to stay up late – I remember sneaking into the TV room, which was on the other side of the house to my parents’ room, to watch movies – or one year (1983), to watch Australia win the America’s Cup yacht race (which must have been late here if it was raced in American daytime – in fact there was much made of the quote by our then Prime Minister who said the following day ‘Any boss who sacks a worker for not turning up today is a bum’.)

I’ve also noticed that I am finding it even harder of late because the house is still in absolute state of chaos, which makes mornings that much harder to deal with. I am just too tired on getting home at 7 or 8pm, then making and eating dinner, to do any little extra jobs that need to be done. That’s why there are boxes spread throughout the dining room and the floor is now an interesting shade of grey even though the tiles are not in fact grey at all.

The Boyfriend really does get the bulk of the angst thrown his way of a morning of late. Really, though, when I am rushing around like a chook with my head cut off, do I want to have a conversation about installing Office on the new computer, or do I need anything from the shops today, or what do you think about the latest boring political news? No, sir, I do not.

Perhaps that is why when They Boyfriend was pushing me to take some fruit to work with my lunch today in the interests of my health, he said “Come on, how about a nice little mandarin? Here’s one just like you, small and cute. We didn’t have any grumpy ones so this one will have to do – just eat it a bit later in the day, not first thing.” Hmph. I resemble that remark.

Updated to Add: The mandarin may not have been grumpy. But it was sort of wrinkly and a bit sour inside. Just like me. Heh.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “I Never Said I Was a Morning Person!”

  1. sashimi Says:

    Hang in there…in my vaaast experience.. a month is all it takes to settle in..or 4 weekends, whichever comes sooner. 🙂

  2. Pamela Says:

    have you ever seen Ugli Fruit?
    I was just imaginging your boyfriend with that encouraging.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Pamela he is very smart, clearly, since he doesn’t seem to dislike me at all, even with my less than stellar performance of a morning. In fact as I type right now he is cleaning up my cat’s vomit instead of making me do it. Ah, must be love.

Leave a Reply

