Awkward Conversations 101

I spent the day today with The Boyfriend’s mum and dad because I was home sick from work, and they just look after me the right amount – offer cups of tea and conversation but leave me alone when I go to lie down.I love spending time with them, and in exchange I cooked them a corned beef to have on their sandwiches for lunch with pickles and cheese. Yum.

I was having a conversation with The Boyfriend’s dad, about Beethoven, and how difficult it must have been to hear the music in his head but not be able to actually experience it the way others did after he went deaf in his late 20s.

We then moved on to how many of the old composers were total nut jobs. I supplied the information that many composers had untreated syphilis, and they were all nutjobs because one of the later complications is going quite mad.

The Boyfriend’s dad said to me ” You know, apparently lots of women are carriers of that”.*

What made me reply with a cheery “I’m not, no need to worry about your son on that one, he won’t catch anything from me!”? I then tried to recover with “No, really, I’ve been tested!”

It was only when he started umming and ahhing that I realised that might have been an oversharing moment and decided not to carry on with the fact that it surely is HPV or something like that rather than syphilis that is rife in the community, and that I thought it was men who are unknowing carriers. I think I’d better cook them something else to distract them.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Awkward Conversations 101”

  1. willowtree Says:

    Men aren’t unknowing carriers of STDs, we’re uncaring carriers.

  2. EGE Says:

    Ah yes, I, too, make inappropriate comments and dig myself in deeper trying to get out. Yummy, foot!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Maybe you should made a new list – topics to avoid with your boyfriend’s parents – I think STDs would be #1.

  4. Frank Says:

    Try cooking bacon…that usually distracts people from just about everything 🙂

  5. sashimi Says:

    I did tht once, to a friend’s bride who I was meeting for the first time – (Happened to have seen her wedding photos beforehand)
    “You look quite young, much much younger than in your fotos”
    She gave me a malevolent stare and I caught on that she probably liked her wedding pictures..so I tried to dig myself out – “No I mean, it must have been the attire. Makes you look a bit older”.

    100% true . no exaggerations.

  6. 12ontheinside Says:

    WT: And they say chivalry is dead.
    EGE: My brain to mouth filter sometimes (always?) struggles to work.
    Jenn: Thanks for the tip. I’ll keep that in mind.
    Frank: Why did I not think of that!
    Sashimi: Ha, sounds like something I would do!

Leave a Reply

