I Picked This One Well

Work has been somewhat stressful this past week. It was such a nice surprise to receive a text from The Boyfriend this morning: “Fancy dinner out this evening? My treat! Wherever you want to go, the choice is all yours xoxo”.

I replied immediately with just one word. “Maxim’s.”

I’m so glad he gets my humour. He worked out immediately I meant the famed restaurant in Paris, as he replied with “If you pay for the airfare!” Smart cookie, that one. Also, one of the few people who actually gets my jokes.

I’ve made some poor choices in my life. Not that I’d change anything – my mistakes have helped make me who I am. It’s just so nice to know that The Boyfriend is not one of those mistakes.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “I Picked This One Well”

  1. willowtree Says:

    I got it. (before I read the explanation)

  2. willowtree Says:

    Actually, as I was reading his text, I came up with the same type of answer (mine was in NY)

  3. 12ontheinside Says:

    WT: One can only know so many fancy restaurants, if one doesn’t tend to flit around the world actually dining at them! (Or is he saying he got my joke too so wants to be my boyfriend? *heh*)

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Awww, how sweet! I’m so happy you found someone who makes the bad days easier.

  5. Frank Says:

    Ooh, he’s a classy one.

    I approve.

  6. travelling, but not in love Says:

    Too cute. Really. But if you ever do get the airfare sorted, then look me up – I have a spare sofa for itinerant Aussies…

  7. 12ontheinside Says:

    Jenn: It feels good this side too.
    Frank: Thanks. He’s so not classy really and I think that/’s half the charm – there’s just no fakeness in someone so down to earth.
    tbnil: It’s a deal, as long as you don’t take me to any clubs with dark rooms. 😉

Leave a Reply

