Cheesy

Ah, Mondays. Don’t you just love them. Mine was even worse given that I had to get up an extra hour early to salt my cheese. That sentence may make sense after the weekend tales are complete.

On Friday night I gathered a group of friends from The Local and off we went to watch our footy team’s last home game for the season. It was great, especially given that we won. On the way home, we stopped in at a bar. I was refused entry. “We can’t let you in ma’am, you are wearing a football jersey”. I might add, this was one of the seedier establishments in the area. I responded “We are in Parramatta, right?” The bouncer agreed. I continued. “Parra just won a home game, in this very suburb, right?” The bouncer agreed again. “And I am not allowed in because I have a Parramatta jersey on?” Yep, that’s right. I obviously looked oh so threatening, I’d have been frightened myself if there had been a mirror nearby.

footy

Once Saturday morning rolled around, I said to The Boyfriend that I was taking him somewhere special. I should possibly have let him know that it would not involve me feeding him, as he got all his nice clothes on and thought we were going out to lunch. I wondered why he got all dressed up. The Boyfriend drove, so I gave just the address. No other clue – a street address. His response? “What, the homebrew shop?” Yes, folks, my boyfriend seems to know the address of the homebrew shop off by heart. I did buy him something special, of course – all the ingredients needed to make a tasty Stella Artois style beer. And let me tell you – hops smell nasty. Very, very nasty. While at the homebrew shop, I bought myself a cheesemaking kit – just a small one that makes brie/camembert style cheese. I started the culture on our return home on Saturday and I’ve been making the bloody stuff ever since. We watched footy at The Local yesterday afternoon – well everyone else did, I was running home every hour to turn the cheese over. Anyway, I have a new appreciation for why nice cheese costs so much. This stuff had better taste good. Little Miss Muffet curds pictured below.

curds

On Saturday night, after deciding to have an early night with a DVD, The Boyfriend arrived in the bedroom with this nice little tray of pickles, cheese, and milk before bed. OK, Kahlua and milk, but close enough. I think I’ll keep him.

cheese

I sure hope my cheese turns out as nice.

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Cheesy”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Oooh, yum. Let us know how it turns out.

  2. EGE Says:

    Ooh, I tried to make cheese once and it Did Not Work. Yours looks like it’s going to, at least — mind never got that far. Good luck!

  3. willowtree Says:

    I used to work in a brewery.

  4. 12ontheinside Says:

    Jenn: Of course I will!
    EGE: I’ll be sure to post all my tips and tricks – once I taste it to be sure it worked!
    WT: Seriously? Best job, ever. Reminds me of the old joke about the brewery worker, who drowned at work in a vat of beer. The poor widow, on hearing of her loss, asked tearfully “Did he suffer much?” She was assured he didn’t – “No, ma’am, he got out 3 times to go to the toilet.”

  5. Frank Says:

    Kudos for even attempting to make your own cheese.

  6. jennifer Says:

    My 18 year old wants me to take an adult ed class at our high school this fall (he will be away) in which we are told that combining one gallon of milk with some heat and a few more ingredients will yield a lovely batch of fresh mozzarella. It’s a one night class. A small investment. I think I’ll do it.

  7. 12ontheinside Says:

    Frank: Thanks. Crap, I just remembered I forgot to turn my cheese today. And yesterday. It might end badly.
    jennifer: Do it!

  8. Polergirl Says:

    Kahlua and milk – wow sounds like you’ve got a great boyfriend! Good luck with the cheese, it sounds very technical. 🙂

  9. travelling, but not in love Says:

    I love the smell of brewing beer. I used to live near a brewery and would wake every morning to the smell…lovely. Nothing like waking up to the smell of yeast – as long as it’s not an infection, that is….

  10. 12ontheinside Says:

    Polergirl: Yum, and yes I think I do. Cheese is not so technical, more time consuming.
    TBNIL: Mmmm, beeer.

  11. Kimberly Says:

    Nice Hoegaarden glasses…

Leave a Reply

