Lick This!

Yesterday, I smelt something odd on my hand. I sniffed it and couldn’t identify what it was. It smelt sort of citrus like, but in a medicinal way. I licked the back of my hand, and still couldn’t identify what it was, so I washed my hands. Then I got a drink of water, because whatever it was it tasted feral.

Today I was dropping some papers off to the big boss and onthe way, used some of the anti bacterial hand gel that’s been put up throughout the building since the great Swine Flu Fever hit. It suddenly occurred to me – aHA – that’s what had been on my hand yesterday!

And then it suddenly occurred to me – who licks their hand when there’s something unidentified on it? Only me.

Tags:

9 Responses to “Lick This!”

  1. WT Says:

    I can’t believe you licked it!

  2. Little Miss Moi Says:

    Lucky it wasn’t snot.

  3. 12ontheinside Says:

    WT: Me either.
    LMM: So, now we know. You wipe your nose with the back of your hand.

  4. travelling but not in love Says:

    I like that you combine your sense of adventure with personal hygiene issues.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Ewww! I can’t use that stuff and still eat. I can’t imagine licking it. But your insides are disinfected now, yay!

  6. Aritza, Goddess of.. Says:

    Haha, you are not alone. My dad once licked his hand thinking it was cake icing on it .. turns out it was dishwashing soap.

  7. Frank Says:

    Glad to know I’m not the only one who’d try something like that…

  8. Pamela Says:

    When I was at my daughter’s — I was being a good grandma and chasing after the almost 2 and 4 year olds.

    As I was undressing the 2 year old for bed… I took off his shoes and he picked up one and sniffed the bottom of it.. THEN LICKED IT.

  9. 12ontheinside Says:

    tbnil: every day’s an adventure, eh.
    Jenn: Ha, I never thought of it that way!
    Aritza: Come to think of it I might have licked the wrong thing once or twoce before. And no, I didn’t mean that to sound so dirty!
    Frank: Try it with disinfecting hand gel, at least it cleans off all the germs from the things you licked before.
    Pamela: Even grosser than me. I feel challenged now. See today’s post on false teeth and toilets, I think I can keep the gross factor on high alert here.

Leave a Reply

