Too Few and Too Many

The last two weekends have been a complete contrast. One was filled with nothing. The next was filled with people, some of whom I could have done without!

The weekend before last, The Boyfriend went to Melbourne for the weekend to watch an AFL game. I decided it was a good weekend to go and visit my girlfriend and her two kids. Unfortunately, I left my call until too late and when I called to arrange it, she already had plans. I made alternate plans to keep myself busy and they fell through as well. It was a pretty lonely weekend, and I was a bit at a loss for things to do and people to talk to. It was a long weekend, and it felt like a wasted one.

Last weekend, I went away for a few days with The Boyfriend. He brought a couple of mates with him, as the weekend was in celebration of The Boyfriend’s birthday. (It was a big one. I won’t give the number away, but it started with a 4 and ended with an 0. And no, he’s not 400 years old.) The contrast to our usual weekends away, with just the two of us, was remarkable.

One of the guys who came along for the trip loved the house (we stayed at my parent’s beach house) and he spent lots of time poking around, taking photos and exploring the nearby beach. Some of the poking around got a little hard to take, for example when he broke the garage roller door, but in general it was ok – in other words, he fixed it before we left. I’d take him away again, he was cheerful and pleasant to have around.

The other of Boyfriend’s friends? I actually would really like to slap him across the face. On the first day away, he went for a walk for an hour. 5 hours later we picked him up from a nearby pub after ringing to find out where he was. That night when we all went out for dinner at a nearby club, he didn’t eat, but walked away from the group to play pokies on his own. The next day, he was nowhere to be found when lunch was being served (he was later found sitting outside the front gate – what the?). Then after dinner that night, he just got up and went to bed – no goodnight. And in the two times I’ve seen him since the weekend? He’s insulted me and said I was rude on the weekend. That slap sounds pretty tough to resist. I can’t promise not to at least throw a drink on him if I run in to him over this next weekend.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Too Few and Too Many”

  1. Little Miss Moi Says:

    Oh my. I’d slap him too. Also, i’m not saying you were rude, but, it was your parent’s house, and you have the right to act there as you like! And being his personal babysitter and chauffeur is really testing the friendship.

  2. MyopicPsychotic Says:

    Never mind slapping him. Arrange for him to be wiped out. What a rude man! Why is your boyfriends friends with this guy? … Would you like me to speak to him? I can be very persuasive sometimes. I can also be very bitchy.

  3. Maisy Says:

    What is it that your boyfriend likes about this friend? Has he known him for so long that he’s and ‘old’ friend variety of friend, or are them some redeeming qualities to him that outweigh the qualities you saw on the weekend?

    Either way, a slap sounds in order to me.

    Ali

  4. Pamela Says:

    a little tantrum tot. a little jerk. he’s mad cuz you took HIS boyfriend away.

  5. Frank Says:

    So is he 4,000 years old?

  6. Bobbie Leigh Says:

    What an asshole! Swat his nose with a newspaper- that will really confuse him.

  7. 12ontheinside Says:

    I agree with you all. Even Frank. heh.

Leave a Reply

