Any Other Time I Would Have Been Angry

Yesterday I was on my way to work. I was feeling pretty tired and second hand after a late night cheering up a friend with a broken heart. I must have looked a sight. Of course, there was no seat available on the train – there never is when you really need it!

It was pretty chilly and I was wearing a read coat that only buttons up high and flares out to mid thigh level. A bit like this one, but possibly less fitted around the waist.

A young man who was sitting near me caught my eye and very politely said “Excuse me, would you like my seat?” Halleluiah! I gratefully accepted, on account of the fact that I felt a million years old, had not enough hours of sleep behind me and a raging hangover. As I thanked him and sat down, he frowned at all the men nearby and murmered something along the lines of how he hated it when men did not stand for pregnant ladies.

I was torn for a split second while it computed in my brain. Flared coat that is not fitted around the belly. Tired looking woman. He thought I was pregnant! It took only a moment to decide between telling him he was mistaken and giving his seat back or leaving it as it was. I smiled at him really sweetly as I thanked him and rubbed my belly in the way I have seen pregnant women do. I like to think I made his day for his thoughtfulness – he would have bragged that all over the office. He sure made mine, and I got an extra 25 minutes of shut eye on the trip that was desparately needed. And I paid back karma wise by making myself almost miss my train home that afternoon by stopping to let work security know someone had left their headlights on in their car which was parked in the work carpark. Oh, and it made a screamingly funny story to tell later at The Local.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Any Other Time I Would Have Been Angry”

  1. WT Says:

    Hey, whatever it takes!

  2. travelling but not in love Says:

    Love it.

    My lovely friend in the Northwest once ordered a guiness in London and the bartender said “it’s very good for ladies in your condition”.

    She responded with “what condition? Oh, you mean fat?”.

    The bartender beat a hasty retreat….

  3. Bobbie Leigh Says:

    Hey, it got you a seat!!! I really like the coat by the way…

  4. Brett Says:

    Great post

  5. EGE Says:

    Ha! Someone said that to me once, only I was wearing overalls, which does not speak well for the actual size of my belly at the time (yes, we’ll say “at the time” — it allows us to pretend it’s a good deal small now)

  6. Frank Says:

    Hmmmm…acting pregnant can get you a seat on a crowded train…

    …I should try that some time.

  7. 12ontheinside Says:

    I’m seriously thinking of inserting a cushion into the front of my dress every morning 😉

  8. Pamela Says:

    I think it’s an omen, dear.

Leave a Reply

