Lucky My Head is Screwed On

Mum always used to say I’d forget my head if it wasn’t screwed on. I probably would, too.

The other week, we were heading out to a party. A friend had popped in to visit, and gave us a lift to the party so we wouldn’t have to drive (yay!). We stopped on the way for beer and ice – a party can never have too much ice; people always seem to take drinks and forget the ice. When we got out of the car, I looked around for my shoes. No shoes were to be found. I was sure I’d put thongs on (the footwear type) just as I’d left, but obviously had not.

Friend: Damn! I guess we’ll have to go back and get shoes for you.

Me: Na, watch this.

I walked into the local bottle shop. The guy who owns the store is an absolute sweetheart, even though I find it funny that he owns a bottlo and doesn’t drink much at all.

Me: Hi! Do you happen to have any thongs for promotional giveaways or anything? I seem to have left home without any shoes on.

I walked out a minute later wearing very stylish lime green thongs with “Vodka Cruiser” written all over them.

Mum also used to say “It’s not what you know, it’s who you know”.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Lucky My Head is Screwed On”

  1. anonymous Says:

    I was afraid you were going to tell the guy that you lost your thongs in the bush fires… which would have an entirely different meaning here in the states. (I had to cover my name for saying that.)

  2. 12ontheinside Says:

    Ha ha. That’s why I was careful to explain I meant the footwear.
    I’m sure I’ve told the story before about an american getting confused when checking out the dress code at the entry to a pub – and said “No thongs? But how would they know?”

  3. Steph Says:

    I’ve only recently discovered this blog. And whaaattt?? Which Sydney bottle shop is this??

  4. Brett Says:

    cool

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Sounds like perfect office footwear. I dare you.

  6. Frank Says:

    Brilliant. I’m not quite so innovative…I’d have come out wearing plastic bags on my feet. Surprisingly shoes are one of the few items I’ve never forgotten when going outside. I have, in the past, forgotten to put a shirt on when going outside, and I walked into a coffee shop having forgotten to button up my pants.

  7. 12ontheinside Says:

    Steph: I could tell you but I’d have to kill you…
    Brett: Yep it sure was!
    Jenn: Nope. Not even I would take on that challenge. Although I can’t say I’m not tempted to carry my shoes and wear thongs to work, changing into proper shoes when I get there.
    Frank: I reckon I’d realise if I forgot my shirt. Can’t say I haven’t been caught with my fly down though.

Leave a Reply

