Hunting’s Not Just for the Kids

Yesterday as The Boyfriend and I laid in bed, refusing to get up (which I am sure was in no way caused by an excess of alcohol consumption at the Hangi the night before), we talked about our plans for Easter. We’d already delayed the morning’s start by getting up earlier, making toasted sandwiches and coffee, and bringing them all back to bed on a tray while we watched a movie. (Revolutionary Road. Which if you ask me was depressing. Everyone ends up unhappy in the end.)

We’ve invited one of my best friends and her 2 kids to spend the Easter long weekend at our holiday house on the South Coast of NSW.  I rattled on for ageas about what fun things we’d be doing and how I’ve been madly buying little easter eggs and planning an Easter Egg Hunt for the 2 girls.

The Boyfriend nodded and agreed with everything I planned. Then he asked “So when the kids have finished, are they going to do an adult Easter hunt for us?” He went on to add, “Can you imagine how cool it would be to hunt through the back yard, suddenly screaming out, “YAY! I found a scotch and coke behind this tree!”

If it wasn’t such a brilliant idea I’d have laughed at him. Instead I’ve been trying to work out how to have an adult Easter Hunt without scarring the kids for life.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Hunting’s Not Just for the Kids”

  1. mark Says:

    I’d agree, Revolutionary Road was depressing, but still a really good film. Perhaps some colorful water bottles could be obtained and then mix your own drinks and have the kids hide them. Maybe one adult should supervise to be sure the kiddies aren’t sampling the drinks.

  2. 12ontheinside Says:

    It was good Mark, just kind of sad. Like all love dies in the end, even if you think you’re special, you’re not. Bah.
    I think I might lock kids AND adults in the house and hide chocolates AND stubbies of beer! What a perfect solution. The kids will be told they’re not allwed to keep the beer – I’ll swap any beer they find for 5 chocolate eggs – that way I GET TO WIN BEER TOO when I swipe it from the littles. 🙂

  3. Jennifer Says:

    That sounds like so much fun. I think we might try that too –
    I picked up RR in book form and hated it. It was just awful.

  4. Frank Says:

    I thought all Easter egg hunts involved random discoveries of booze…at least that’s how it always was at my house.

  5. Bobbie Leigh Says:

    I want to have Easter with you guys!

Leave a Reply

