Keeping my Funny

This week’s turning me into a zombie. I have started the new job, the promotion I worked on getting for months. I really need to hand over tasks from the old job but am failing as yet – too busy with the new job and the “B” word (Budgets) to do it. Which just means that the old job’s fallen behind, and now I need to find time to get that up to date before I then document what I did and hand it over to some poor sap who really doesn’t want extra work. Long lunches and coffee breaks have become a thing of the past. I’m holding it together, but only just – I feel it physically when I’m stressed, and boy am I stressed.

I am trying to at least pretend I’ve got it all under control, and be my usual light hearted self. A perfect opportunity arose today. The old boss returned from a couple of days off today. His rather distinguished salt and pepper hair was dark. Not just darker, almost black. All he had to say as he arrived was “NOT ONE WORD, ANY OF YOU!” He looked – well let’s just say within seconds I was getting instant messages from across the floor saying “What’s up with the HAIR”. So I wandered into his office, for as you would know I love to taunt him and push the line as far as I can, and sweetly said, while indicating to my own hair “My horoscope mentioned something today about a tall, dark man. You wouldn’t know anything about that would you?” He told me to piss off, and said “Only if it mentioned a stupid looking man”. (Then I felt bad for making fun of him.)

The old boss sure has worked out the best way to deal with the problem. All of those of us that laughed and pointed at him have now been sent a message asking to sponsor him for a charity shave day supporting the Leukaemia Foundation. He’s selling it as “I dyed it specifically because it’s all going soon, I’m not doing the shave to get rid of a mistake!” Whatever, I was happy to contribute – I want that ugly thing off his head, I can’t look at anything else while talking to him, my eyes are drawn to his hair. I think the best way to describe it is to imagine if a bald man killed a small black rodent and skinned it, and glued the hide to their head. Bonus! I’m supporting a worthwhile cause. Of course that’s the real reason! Really!

Tags:

6 Responses to “Keeping my Funny”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Nice save by your boss – that’s pretty clever. I’m glad your still able to have fun – hope things settle down soon!

  2. Frank Says:

    My dad’s done that before, except he just wears a hat all the time instead of shaving it. Dying graying hair is a tricky process, apparently, and a lot of the time he comes out of the bathroom looking like he’s washed his hair in boot polish.

  3. Bobbie Leigh Says:

    Congrats on the new position! I know what you mean by failing to let go of the old job, it’s hard to do when you are so used to it.

  4. Pamela Says:

    he didn’t tell you what happened? I don’t remember this.. but apparently my mom tried to dye my dads hair once. He was gray by the time they married (he was 34)
    anyway, she turned it purple!

  5. travelling but not in love Says:

    Hope you still get to watch tv in the new job, he he.

    And I love salt and pepper hair – why would someone change that? But well done him for dealing with it well…respect.

  6. 12ontheinside Says:

    Jenn: Me too!
    Frank: It looks just like that, athough it is starting to fade now
    Bobbie: Thanks
    Pamela: He does not tell me his secrets. He hates to admit he has a life outside of work.
    TBNIL: No, but I am contemplating the purchase of a small screen one for the new office. I’ve gotten used to it now!

Leave a Reply

