One Of These Things is Not Like the Other

I was just heading down the work corridor, bleary eyed, towards the fridge to grab some breakfast. I overheard a snippet of conversation – “I had the best work out on Saturday night!” I shook my head in bewilderment,. I just don’t get how a gym session could be good. It certainly sounds dreadful – hot, sweaty, uncomfortable, unpleasant. Then it occurred to me that maybe it wasn’t them that was just plain weird for spouting forth with such gusto about exercise, but maybe I am just plain lazy and it’s me that’s not like the rest. Although I seem to have collected a bunch of friends who are also less than athletically gifted.

Recently myself and 3 others made plans to try to find some form of enjoyable exercise, so we could lose a bit of the flab around the middle. This is why for the past 4 weeks, we’ve hired a tennis court for an hour every Tuesday night. Since we started we’ve had the following injuries within the team of 4:

  • a pulled hamstring
  • a fractured foot
  • cartlidge damage on the knee that may need an operation to repair
  • a cold or two
  • a heavy case of hives that got worse when playing

Last week when we mentioned to the caretaker we might try to up our timeslot to 2 hours soon, he looked at us hesitantly before asking “Er… are you sure? You guys seem to be injuring yourselves more than you’re benefiting from this!” Seems to me like this exercise lark is bad for you. I still don’t get it. As long as it keeps being somewhat fun and I don’t kill myself I guess we’ll keep plodding on. Just don’t expect to see me in the gym on the machine next to you any time soon.

Tags:

8 Responses to “One Of These Things is Not Like the Other”

  1. mark Says:

    Tennis is dangerous. Try bowling – much safer and easier to drink and play than tennis.

  2. 12ontheinside Says:

    Mark: I know, I just recommended lawn bowls to someone else, and found myself thinking how perfect, a sport where you sit in the sun and drink beer too.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I concur with Mark – I can see tennis being risky. I’m one of those people who really loves running (almost as much as I love cookies, unfortunately).

  4. Bobbie Leigh Says:

    LOL!!! That sounds JUST like my friends and I! Working out sucks- but I suppose it needs to be done.

  5. 12ontheinside Says:

    Tennis got even riskier last night – I woke up with a dreadful hangover this morning – the after match drinks might have gone a little overboard!

  6. travelling, but not in love Says:

    Oh dear – post match drinks are always a bit dangerous. But possibly the only reason to be playing in the first place….

  7. Frank Says:

    That list sounds like all the injuries I get during one season of track…

  8. nikki Says:

    I’m allergic to exercise.

Leave a Reply

