Needs More Practise

Last night I started a photography course – I have a pretty reasonable digital SLR camera, and only a slight clue on how to use it, so I decided it was time to learn how to use the thing properly.

Hopefully I will be able to remember all the details – my mind is swirling with aperture, shutter speed, ISO, depth of field, etc et al. We didn’t leave the classroom so it was not particularly inspiring.  Although the focus was on theory last night more than the actual doing, if this was my best shot from the night, I think I need more practise! (Also it kinda makes me feel like Maccas.)

burger

I’m looking forward to the next session on the weekend, where we head into The Rocks for some hands on shooting.

Tags:

8 Responses to “Needs More Practise”

  1. tajohnsons Says:

    Hey,
    I think you’re doing pretty good!
    I have started a new blog and would love to have your vote on my poll:
    photographybyrhonda.wordpress.com
    It would really be a help to me!
    Keep up the hard work!

  2. travelling, but not in love Says:

    When you say ‘hands on shooting’ you do mean with a camera, don’t you? I have visions of you turning up and shooting the whole place down, like in ye olde days.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Can’t wait to see what you shoot – how fun!

  4. Bobbie Leigh Says:

    Sounds like you will get some really nice pictures over the weekend- be sure to post them!

  5. mark Says:

    Sounds awesome! Some theory is important later on because you’ll move beyond just getting great pictures to having some idea of what you want your photo to look like and then the technical theory comes into play. Have fun!

  6. 12ontheinside Says:

    tbnil: Uh, yeah. I meant with a camera.
    the rest: Will post next week what i get on the weekend… although I nearly got to take photos of nothing after I left my camera at the pub last night (lucky for me they saw it and popped it in the office for me. whoops.)

  7. Little Miss Moi Says:

    ohhh I’m really jealous. That might be one to do when I get back to Oz, but I also remember Karmyn saying she did a course online. I love my digi SLR but need a new lens. What kinda camera do you have?

  8. 12ontheinside Says:

    LMM: It’s a good one, I recommend this company. They are called Focus 10, and the course I’m doing is Digital I – it’s a beginner/intermediate course for people who want to learn how to use a digital SLR. I’ve got a Nikon D70 at the moment but plan to upgrade soon. Have used it for years never being able to use it properly.

Leave a Reply

