New Year

NYE went off without too many, or possibly even any, hitches. I got all the food prepared on time, which surprised even me, and got the keg set up so that when the first visitor arrived we were sitting back, relaxing with our first drink and looking like it had all been totally effortless.The keg lasted all night, with around 4 schooners left in it the next morning. By 1/4 to 5 when there were still 3 people left, we stopped being so polite and told them to go home so we could go to bed.

One guest, the ex publican, arrived with an extra keg. I’m not sure if I should be proud or checking myself into AA, but we finished that off by the end of the long weekend too. It became a bit like a drop in zone for 4 days, so it’s not like the boyfriend and I managed it solo. In fact, one morning we were woken before 9 by a knocking on the door. One of the boyfriend’s mates, wanting to come over and play. I was all for kicking him out right there, having applied antiseptic to his scraped knee after he’d fallen over in our yard the day before from being a tad too lubricated, but the boyfriend chatted to him for an hour or so before he got the hint and left. The rest of the time we must have served up heaps of cheeses, dips, pate, bickies, etc et al.

I chatted to the boss today about my experiences while he was away – he laughed when I told him I knew why he’d been cranky in the past because I sure went home a bit stressed and cranky every night while he was gone. This was all part of a warm up routine – he gave me Thursday & Friday off this week and Monday & Tuesday next week.

Woo! 6 day Holiday!

And in totally bizarre news? I’m feeding the old publican’s cat for the next week (small price to pay for a free keg, I figure). He lives over The Local. So guess who has a key to The Local!!!*

*Of course, I would never use it for evil, but I like the thought that I have it 🙂

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “New Year”

  1. travelling, but not in love Says:

    Sounds like a good time was had by all. You want to come and organise mine next year?

  2. EGE Says:

    Hang on a second, you get ANOTHER, even LONGER holiday weekend AND the key to the local? You , ma’am, are doing something right with the Powers That Be, that’s for sure!

  3. Bobbie Says:

    You can never have to many Kegs! Sounds like you had a great time!

  4. 12ontheinside Says:

    tbnil: Nope, but you can come to mine any time. Of course, you being so far away, I feel quite safe saying that!
    EGE: So one would think, until I fell over yesterday arvo, injuring my foot, and my pride.
    Bobbie: Sure was!

Leave a Reply

