It’s Beginning to Look Alot Like Christmas

My mum’s started calling me Scrooge. I think it is due to my rather vocal disdain of Christmas. Perhaps if my family were not quite so dysfunctional I would be fine with it, but my Christmas Day actually just makes me understand why it is that the suicide rate escalates around Christmas.

I always love the parties and the functions beforehand though! However, I am starting to tire this year – perhaps I am getting old. This morning I actually laid down on the floor of the office for a while, explaining it away very convincingly as being for a bad back. Really though, I just wanted to lie down.

I think it is a clear sign that perhaps I should worry when I looked in my handbag this morning after arriving at work, only to discover a stubby holder (one of those things you put stubbies of beer in to keep them cool). I have no idea why I put it there, or when, but it made me laugh. Rather than deciding to dry out a bit before the silly season kills me I decided it must be a sign to catch up with my best friend this evening who is in town unexpectedly, and staying in some fancy apartment near town.

coldy-holder

So tonight I have drinks with some ex work colleagues after work followed by dinner and a sleepover at my friends house (am I too old to call it a slumber party? And will she mind that I forgot to bring PJs with me? Ha). Tomorrow I am meeting friends at the pub to play pool, Thursday a dinner party at a friend’s place, Friday the local pub is having a Christmas Party. Then on the weekend? I will be doing my Christmas shopping. Yikes. Send help.

Tags:

6 Responses to “It’s Beginning to Look Alot Like Christmas”

  1. magneto bold too Says:

    Nup. keeping all the help for myself. And the margaritas.

  2. Bobbie Leigh Says:

    You know I think Scrooge is misunderstood. And besides, in this economy, we are all a little Scroogy this year.

  3. travelling, but not in love Says:

    Having a not so subtle lie down at work? I love it – and I’m proud of you….not everyone could pull that off!

  4. EGE Says:

    I wish I could play with YOU this week. I have boring obligations. Bleah.

  5. mark Says:

    Sounds to me like you’ve got the right idea. We’ve got vodka, brandy and wine on hand right now and will probably be adding to that and replenishing as they deplete. Have fun and see you in the new year! (I don’t see how you’ll find any time to blog 🙂 )

  6. 12ontheinside Says:

    Magneto: Just as well I prefer beer then 😛
    Bobbie: If only the scrooginess extended to my Christmas shopping. I’ve been so distracted I’ve ended up buying way to much for everyone. Except the people I have missed completely.
    TBNIL: Thanks. I’m proud of me too 🙂
    EGE: Stuff the obligations, come over and play!
    Mark: Sounds like the beginnings of a fabulous Christmas cocktail!

Leave a Reply

