Weighing the Options

Yesterday, on a crowded train to the city, a lady gave up her seat for me, while eyeing my belly, and murmuring to me “You sit down, dear”. Not before giving the stinkeye to the man next to her, and muttering something to him that sounded a little like “you disgusting pig of a man with no respect”.

I took the seat, and said thanks. However I’m not ‘showing’ yet, so am now confused between my two obvious options. I either never wear THAT outfit again, or I make sure I wear that outfit any day I am feeling a bit lazy and feel like sitting down all the way to work.

I made an error in judgement earlier today. Pre-natal vitamins¬† generally have lots of iron in them. That can be rather… er… clogging to one’s system. So I bought a large bag of dried fruit and a small one of prunes, mixed them up in a jar, and thought I could have a small handful of dried fruit each day to see if that helped. Dried fruit tastes pretty good, and I am greedy. Bad move. Let’s just agree that I should spend the next few hours being very careful not to go near any exposed flames or I think I might explode.

Tags: ,

12 Responses to “Weighing the Options”

  1. radioactive tori Says:

    Prenatal vitamins used to make me feel sick. I took them at night so I could maybe sleep through it. The ones I had first were extremely clogging to the system but when I said something about it to my doctor on my LAST pregnancy, he gave me a different one that didn’t do that. Would have been nice to know it was an option through the other pregnancies. If it doesn’t get better, you can always ask your doctor about that….but it seems like you got the problem worked out on your own so maybe you can just figure out a balance that works for you.

    When we first moved into our old house one of my new neighbors came up to me and asked if I was pregnant or fat. Since I was barely showing, I felt like that was quite a risky move and really wanted to tell her I was just fat so she would feel bad. I didn’t though.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      My personal rule of thumb is to never ask a woman if she is pregnant, unless there is a baby coming out from between her legs. I learned this by asking once, when I was a waitress, when a lady was due. She’d had the baby 2 days before. (She was out on a night out the hospital encouraged on the night before they sent new mums home – they looked after the baby and told each couple to go out) I didn’t get a tip.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Perhaps the woman had a keener eye than most or maybe you’re just glowing!

    Prenatal vitamins are tricky. It’s either one thing or the other, to be vague. I agree with tori – I took mine right before bed.

  3. WT Says:

    When I used to commute from Gosford, I never gave my seat to pregnant women. My reasoning was that they got to have sex at least once, my only pleasure in life was a seat on the train.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      I never gave my seat to one either. I bet you’d do the same as me – take it if offered. :) I took the seat that was offered for the same reason about 2 or 3 years ago. Not sure why I didn’t wise up and wear THAT jacket more often!

  4. Cake Says:

    I’ve had kids offer me their seat recently…I know it’s because I’m paler than pale and look sickly but I always quickly sneak a peek at my belly to make sure I don’t look pregnant. ;)

  5. Pamela Says:

    well.. nice gesture by that person. you must have the preggie glow

  6. Pamela Says:

    hey… you there?

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Yes – just very busy Christmas and New Year holidaying. Well actually I am back at work today so that excuse is kaput. Busy prepping for the new little one!

      Cheers, 12 xo

  7. radioactive tori Says:

    Doing ok? I have been thinking about you and hoping all is well!

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      Tori, all is well here.

      Bub is doing fine and flashed his willy at our 20 week scan last week.

      I’ve just been distracted by Christmas and preparing a nursery. Remind me never to fully renovate a whole floor of a house while pregnant again. :)

      Cheers 12

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

