Keep your Eyes on the Pies

Big news has been on the horizon here for a while, and it’s finally come to pass. Yes, I have hot water again! 5 weeks after it blew up! 5 weeks of winter weather after it blew up, to be more specific. I had the longest most satisfying hot shower ever after the plumber left my place on Friday. Now that spring is just around the corner, I have the hot water again. No wonder I had a cough that sounded like a seal barking for so long. This old abused body is used to the creature comforts, thankyouverymuch

The best winter food I have found to beat the winter chills has been my new party pie maker. I have had a pie maker for years. Until The Boyfriend cleaned it for me the other week, snapping the clip that holds it shut and rendering it useless forever. The new ones that make standard size pies have a much shallower mould than my old one, so I didn’t really fancy replacing it with something I wasn’t a fan of. Then I spied the party pie maker.

Yum yum, these are a snap to make, and now every day feels like a party! OK, that might be a little over the top but who doesn’t love a pie! Plus it makes quiches and other bits and pieces as well. (No, I’m not being paid by Breville to say this.)

There were 2 flavours on offer in this selection – chicken, leek and mushroom or beef and tomato. Delicious. Hot. Which apparently steams up the lens on the phone-camera.I might try this method next time someone takes a photo of me – a sort of tasty soft focus trick.

Tags: ,

12 Responses to “Keep your Eyes on the Pies”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I want that pie maker. That’s awesome. Congratulations on your hot water! You don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone. :)

  2. Pamela Says:

    I never knew such a thing existed

  3. WT Says:

    I’ve got a pie-maker…I LOVE IT! Mine is the 2 pie model.

    • 12ontheinside Says:

      I just think all the pie makers available for the normal bigger pies seem so shallow – the old one I had was deeper than any you can get now.

  4. WT Says:

    Oh yeah, I can’t believe you lasted through winter with no hot water!!! You’re such hardy stock…

  5. Cake Says:

    Oh my…I didn’t even know pie-makers existed! GENIUS! :)

  6. Frank Says:

    I went without hot water for 10 days once…the water in the shower was literally so cold that my scalp felt like it was burning. I can’t imagine FIVE WEEKS.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

